Bloomberg New Economy Forum announces preliminary speaker and participant line-up for Beijing event


New York, Beijing: Bloomberg and the China Center for International Economic Exchanges (CCIEE) have released a preliminary speaker and participant list for the 2019 New Economy Forum, to be held in Beijing on November 20 – 22.

Nearly 500 of the world’s most influential business executives, technology innovators, government officials, experts and academics from more than 60 countries and regions are expected to come together to propose solutions to the massive disruption that’s occurring, as the balance of economic power shifts towards the Asia Pacific.

“We are assembling a world-class community of global leaders from new economy nations, including the most influential titans in business and finance from China, India, Africa, Latin America and the Middle East,” said Justin B. Smith, CEO of Bloomberg Media. “This unique community has a common vision: to apply their expertise and perspective to tackle the world’s most critical challenges, deliver concrete solutions and build a pathway to progress.”

Launched in 2018 by Michael R. Bloomberg, Founder of Bloomberg LP and Bloomberg Philanthropies, and three-term Mayor of New York City, the New Economy Forum was founded on the belief that the global economy stands on the threshold of immense opportunity, powered by China, India and other rising countries, as well as emerging technologies like 5G networks and artificial intelligence.

The forum provides a unique platform for business and government leaders to discuss these issues, propose solutions, and work together towards economic growth that is both sustainable and inclusive.

Following the 2018 New Economy Forum, at which Wang Qishan, Vice President of the People’s Republic of China, delivered a keynote address, this year’s event will also feature a lineup of top government leaders.

The forum will include keynote speeches, plenary and breakout sessions on a variety of topics such as global economic governance, trade, technology, finance and capital markets, climate change, urbanization and inclusion.

The current speakers and participants in the 2019 New Economy Forum include:

Michael R. Bloomberg — Founder and CEO, Bloomberg LP

Dr. Henry A. Kissinger — Former U.S. Secretary of State and National Security Advisor

Henry M. Paulson Jr. — Former U.S. Treasury Secretary; Chairman, Paulson Institute

Zeng Peiyan — Former Vice Premier of the People’s Republic of China; Chairman, CCIEE

Sultan Al Jaber — Minister of State; CEO of Abu Dhabi National Oil Company

Ajay Banga — President and CEO, Mastercard

Charlene Barshefsky — Senior International Partner, WilmerHale

Margaret Chan — Former Director General, World Health Organization

Chang Zhenming — Chairman, CITIC Group

Natarajan Chandrasekaran — Executive Chairman, Tata Sons

Mathias Cormann – Minister of Finance, Commonwealth of Australia

Eui-sun Chung — Executive Vice Chairman, Hyundai Motor Group

Gary Cohn — Former Assistant to the U.S. President for Economic Policy and Director of the National Economic Council

Ray Dalio – Founder, co-CIO and co-Chairman, Bridgewater Associates, Inc

Aliko Dangote — President and Chief Executive, Dangote Industries Limited

Gary Dickerson — President and CEO, Applied Materials, Inc.

Carlos Domiguez — Secretary of Finance, Republic of the Philippines

Dong Mingzhu — Chairwoman and President, Gree Electric Appliances

Sergio Ermotti — Group CEO, UBS Group AG

Niall Ferguson — Senior Fellow, The Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace at Stanford University

Fu Ying –Former Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs; Vice Chairman, Foreign Affairs Committee of the National People’s Congress; Chairwoman, Center for International Strategy and Security, Tsinghua University

Bill Gates — Co-Chair, The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Ge Honglin – Chairman, Aluminum Corporation of China

He Dongfeng — Chairman and CPC Secretary, Commercial Aircraft Corporation of China, Ltd

Walter Isaacson — Professor of History, Tulane University; Former CEO, The Aspen Institute

Khaldoon Khalifa Al Mubarak — Group CEO and Managing Director, Mubadala Investment Company

Luis Alberto Moreno – President, Inter-American Development Bank

Huang Qifan — Former Mayor, Chongqing; Vice Chairman, CCIEE

Kai-Fu Lee — Founder, Chairman and CEO, Sinovation Ventures

Li Shufu — Chairman, Zhejiang Geely Holding Group

Li Xiaopeng – Secretary of CPC Committee and Chairman of China Everbright Group Limited

Jean Liu — President, Didi Chuxing

Lou Jiwei — Former Minister of Finance; Former Chairman of National Council for Social Security Fund, PRC; Standing Committee Member and Chairman of the Committee of Foreign Affairs, 13th CPPCC National Committee

Martin Lau — President, Tencent

Strive Masiyiwa — Founder and Executive Chairman, Econet Group

Blythe Masters – Former CEO, Digital Asset Holdings

Francesca McDonagh — Group Chief Executive, Bank of Ireland

Judith McKenna — President and CEO, Walmart International

Sanjay Mehrota — President and CEO, Micron Technologies

Takehiko Nakao — President, Asian Development Bank

Nandan Nilekani — Chairman, Infosys Limited

Manuel Nunes Junior — Minister of State for Economic and Social Development

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala — Former Minister of Finance, Nigeria; Senior Advisor, Lazard Ltd.

Penny Pritzker — Former U.S. Secretary of Commerce; Founder, PSP Partners

Noel Quinn — Group Chief Executive, HSBC

Mike Roman — Chairman of the Board and CEO, 3M

Kevin Rudd — Former Prime Minister of Australia; President, Asia Society Policy Institute

Tharman Shanmugaratnam — Senior Minister and Coordinating Minister for Social Policies, Republic of Singapore

Neil Shen — Steward of Sequoia Capital Founding and Managing Partner of Sequoia Capital China Shi Yigong — Dean of School of Life Sciences, Tsinghua University; Fellow, China Academy of Science; President, Westlake University

Shu Yinbiao – Chairman and Secretary of the CPC Leading Group, China Huaneng Group., Ltd.

Frederick W. Smith — Chairman and CEO, FedEx

Lord Nicholas Stern — IG Patel Professor of Economics and Government, London School of Economics

Jane Sun — CEO and member of the Board of Directors, International, Ltd

Tidjane Thiam — CEO, Credit Suisse Group AG

Jan Vapaavuori — Mayor, City of Helsinki

Wang Shi — Chairman, Vanke Foundation

Wang Xiaochu — Chairman and Party Secretary, China Unicom

Bill Winters — Group Chief Executive, Standard Chartered

Wu Xiaoling  — Director of the Management Committee, Tsinghua University Financial Technology Research Institute

Xie Zhenhua — China’s Special Envoy for Climate Change

Yang Lan — Chairman, Sun Media Group

Zhu Min — Former Deputy Managing Director, IMF; Former Deputy Governor, PBOC; Chairman, National Institution of Financial Research, Tsinghua University

Zhang Lei — Founder, Chairman and CEO, Hillhouse Capital Management Group

Zhang Xin — Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, SOHO China

Zhou Xiaochuan — Former Governor, People’s Bank of China; Vice Chairman, Boao Forum for Asia and Chief Representative of China

Yu Liang — Chairman, China Vanke Co, Ltd.

Founded on March 20, 2009, China Center for International Economic Exchanges is a social organization and a new type of think tank, registered with and approved by the relevant authorities of the Chinese government.

Guided by the philosophy of “Originality, Objectivity, Rationality and Compatibility”, CCIEE aims to serve national development, improve people’s welfare and promote exchanges and cooperation by conducting research on strategic and economic issues both at home and abroad, developing international exchanges and cooperation, and providing consulting services and intellectual support to the government and business in decision making.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone